Paleo vs. Primal

Let me preface this with the statement that I hate the term “Diet.” You will often hear about the Paleo Diet or the Primal Diet. Diets to me sound temporary, and this isn’t temporary. This is a lifestyle. After seeing the drastic improvements in my health, I will never go back to the way we were eating before. Diets also sound like something you do to lose weight. I never did this to lose weight. At all. Did I lose weight? Yes. Am I thankful for that? Absolutely, but my objective was to see if my health would improve. It doesn’t matter how much weight you lose doing something if it makes your health worse. It’s not good.

I also want to state that we are human. I would be a bold faced liar if I said that we eat this way 100% of the time. We don’t. We do the best we can, as often as we can, and if we sometimes end up eating a pizza for dinner, so be it. That’s life. I don’t beat myself up over it. I don’t feel guilty about it. I accept it, enjoy it, and move on. Obsessing over food wouldn’t be very Paleo, after all, now would it?

Paleo

Primal

We tend to identify a bit more with the Primal Lifestyle, because we do include dairy. It doesn’t seem to have a negative impact on our bodies, so we include it. In addition, there are some other elements to this lifestyle that are important to note. Getting a good night’s sleep is one of them. Your body isn’t ever going to function at it’s best if it doesn’t have a period of time where it can rest and reset itself. (This one has been very difficult in the past 7 months since we welcomed our baby into the world, but we’re doing the best we can.) Movement is also big with this lifestyle. We try to do something active every day. Whether it’s a walk around the neighborhood with the baby in her carrier or the stroller, yoga, or a kettlebell workout, being active allows me a few minutes each day to refocus my energies, and to take care of my own needs. As a mother, this is so important, and so often neglected. Primal living also emphasizes play. This is an easy one with a new baby around, but I still struggle with just playing. Our society is so focused on technology and staying connected that it’s easy to be updating twitter or facebook or checking my bank balance while I’m anywhere. So, lately, a big part of my focus has been on making the conscious decision to just play. When my daughter is awake, it’s time to put the phone aside, turn the laptop off, and just play. It sounds simple enough, right?

paleo

8 thoughts on “Paleo vs. Primal

  1. Pingback: wartrol

  2. Pingback: The Primal Challenge Day 21 | The Primal Fear

  3. Pingback: The Paleo/Primal Model — A Diet for ALL Diets | Obesity Undone is Fat Then Fit Now --- Weight loss is a side effect of fitness; Fitness is not the end result of weight loss!

  4. Pingback: Review: Primal Power Method — Unlocking The Ancient Secret To Health | Obesity Undone is Fat Then Fit Now --- Weight loss is a side effect of fitness; Fitness is not the end result of weight loss!

Leave a Reply

