Primal Baby

As I mentioned in the post about my medical conditions, my husband and I didn’t think we were going to have the chance to be parents. I had a miscarriage once before. It’s was probably 2005, and I miscarried the day we found out that we were expecting. We hadn’t even had a chance to wrap our heads around it yet, and it was gone.  After that, it just didn’t happen for us. We weren’t necessarily “trying,” but we weren’t trying not to have a baby either. My health wasn’t good, and was getting worse, so we decided not to push the issue. After all, you probably need to have water in your body to grow a baby, and I wasn’t doing so well in that area. If it was meant to be, it would be.

We started eating Paleo in July 2010. The following January, I slowly stopped taking my medications. I was starting to feel better, and look better. I was losing weight. I had enough energy to work out regularly, and was enjoying life more. By February 2012, my period returned. (I stopped having it regularly shortly before I was diagnosed with Diabetes Insipidus) By April 2012, I was pregnant. Almost all of the medications that I was taking are medications that should not be used during pregnancy and all of my doctors were relieved that I wasn’t on them when I conceived.

My pregnancy was rough. I had violent morning sickness until month 7. I could barely keep any food down at all. The frequency of going to the bathroom increased and I was sleeping very little. I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes, although I’m not sure that I actually had it. (I tested my blood sugars three times a day every day, and never had a result that was outside of normal, regardless of what I ate). There were concerns about if the baby was growing enough, and concerns that I wasn’t growing enough. (I actually delivered the baby weighing 4 pounds less than I weighed when I got pregnant.) Around month 5, hubby left for work overseas, and wouldn’t be home again until the baby was about 4 months old. I lived in constant fear that something would go wrong. We told very few people about the pregnancy until after the 1st trimester was over, and even then, I struggled to believe that things were going to be okay. How could the baby be healthy if I didn’t process water properly? How could the baby be healthy if I wasn’t? I was terrified. Luckily, she is healthy. Labor was rough, but I had some amazing girlfriends in the delivery room with me (my family is 3000 miles away), and the hospital staff was amazing. We were able to Skype with my husband right after she was born, too, which was wonderful.  I can’t say that Primal living is what helped me get pregnant or not (there is a ton of evidence to support the idea that paleo improves fertility), but I do believe that I would not be a mother to a healthy baby without the improvements I’ve made to my health.

Primal, paleo, baby, primal baby, infertility, health, babies

8 thoughts on “Primal Baby

  1. Pingback: wartrol

  2. Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to look it over.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Superb blog and superb design.

Leave a Reply

