Baby Wearing

Not long after my husband left to work overseas, my best friend through me a baby shower. It was absolutely amazing, but that’s because she is absolutely amazing. Seriously, she is one of those people that makes you want to be a better person simply by knowing her. She was by my side through all of it, even the delivery, and no matter how long I live, I will never be able to thank her enough. Seriously, she’s amazing. But back to the point, at my baby shower, one of the gift’s that I received was this baby carrier

.Baby Wearing, attachment parenting, baby carrier

Basically, this carrier is a life saver. If you’ll remember, my husband was overseas for the first 3-4 months after I had the baby. With her tongue tie, she had a lot of trouble eating. She would gulp instead of swallowing, which caused a lot of gas, and she was colicky. She was fussy a lot of the time, and hard to calm. She also barely slept, which meant that I barely slept. So, wearing her was a tremendous help. It meant that I was able to keep her close to me (making up for some of the bonding that we missed by my not being able to breast feed), I was able to sooth her, and I was also able to do useful things like cook and clean. Sometimes, she’d even fall asleep while I was wearing her, so I could do something awesome like sit down, or go to the bathroom in peace…..It was like magic. (PS…going potty while wearing a baby, while a bit awkward, is totally doable. It’s not ideal by any stretch of the imagination, but it sure as heck beats waking a sleeping baby…) Not only do I wear her around the house, but I wear her to do other things, like go to the farmer’s market, and hit up Costco. (Costco shopping carts, for the record, are not car seat friendly at all). It allowed to have my hands free and hold my baby. There are a ton of benefits for the baby, too. Dr. Sears outlines some of them here, Nurture through touch outlines some here, and La Leche League talks about some here.

With that said, it’s not easy on the body. With this carrier, my back will start to hurt after awhile. So, I would wear her a lot during the day, and at night, I was sleeping on a heating pad. They have more ergonomic carriers that are supposed to be easier on the body, but they are expensive. Money is tight, so I’ve just been making due. Now that the baby is on a better sleeping schedule, with naps and such, I’ve been able to do some of the cooking and cleaning while she sleeps, eliminating some of the baby wearing time. I still like wearing her though, and there are so many benefits, so when I saw Ergobaby Carriers at a huge discount on Zulily, I snatched one up. I haven’t gotten it yet, but I’ll post once I do, and once I have a chance to test it out. Here’s hoping it’s more comfortable!

Do any of you practice baby wearing? If so, what kind of carrier do you use?

Leave a Reply

