Spicy Pineapple Chili

Spicy Pineapple Chilli

Pineapple and chili? Sounds interesting, but tastes delicious. I first made this recipe from Civilized Caveman Cooking Creations when I was still pregnant. The idea was that I would make some food, and freeze it in individual portions so that once I delivered, I’d have absolutely no excuse to eat from a window. I was trying to plan ahead and set myself up for success. Here’s the problem….this stuff is delicious. And, despite my constant, never ending morning sickness, I could keep this down. So, I’d make a big batch, freeze the portions and eat them. I seriously did this like three or four times before giving birth. I did end up with few portions by the time I gave birth, but not nearly as many as I should have had…..I cooked mine in the crockpot though, and used ground bison instead of ground beef. Bison is higher in protein, Omega-3s, iron and B-12 than beef, is lower in calories, and is more likely to be grass fed, and free from growth hormones and other crap. It can be pricy at a grocery or health food store, but we’ve found it at Costco and Sam’s Club priced really reasonably, especially when compared to grass fed-beef. I also used my madolin slicer to save time chopping all of the ingredients, and while I’m not sure if the plastic emits any crazy chemicals into your food as it cooks (they say it’s perfectly safe), I used a crockpot liner to make cleanup easy. It freezes beautifully as well, so I always try and freeze a few portions so that I  always have a healthy option in the freezer just in case my day is crazy or unexpected guests show up. This dish has also been a hit with our Paleo and non-Paleo friends as well. 🙂

 

paleo, primal, pineapple chili, slow cooker, dinner, spicy chili

3 thoughts on “Spicy Pineapple Chili

  1. Looks great! When you freeze your individual portions what do you put them in? Tuperware? I always want to do this but I’m never sure how the food is going to re-heat.

    • I usually just freeze them in zip lock baggies, and then dump them into a bowl to microwave or into a pot to reheat on the stove. I’ve used tupperware as well, but they can be more difficult to store than the baggies.

Leave a Reply

