Chicken Nuggets

Here’s another recipe from the Food Lover’s Primal Palate’s cookbook Gather. Generally, we don’t eat a lot of fried foods here, but I was in the mood for something different, and luckily had all of the ingredients for these bad boys on hand…..Chicken nuggets, paleo chicken nuggets, paleo fried chicken, gluten free chicken nuggets paleo chicken nuggets, chicken nuggets, grain free chicken nuggets, gluten free chicken nuggets

I wish that I had taken more pictures of the process of making them (I’m still getting the hang of this blogging thing), but they were much easier to make than it first looks like. They came out deliciously as well. I did make a small change to their recipe. I didn’t have any lard on hand, and didn’t want to use that much coconut oil for one recipe (we were getting low, and I need to use it in the baby’s formula), so I use bacon grease that I had left over from baking bacon. I threw that into the deeper cast iron pan that we have, and it worked really well. It added another layer of flavor to the chicken nuggets that my husband really liked.

I also didn’t make their honey mustard dipping sauce. Their recipe calls for lemon juice, and with interstitial cystitis, I can’t have lemon juice. (Techincally, I can, but it’s not good for my interstitial cystitis, so I simply don’t eat it, or things made with it, when I can avoid it). Sometimes, I will leave it out of recipes, or try and substitute something else in it’s place, but I wasn’t sure how to substitute it. (I am certain that if I had sent a message one their blog or social media, the nice folks at Primal Palate would have given me some suggestions). Instead, I made my own my combining 1/4 cup honey (raw and local is best), 1/4 cup mustard (check the label to make sure there aren’t any crappy ingredients hiding in there), and 1 tsp sea salt and 1 tsp black pepper. I just whisked the ingredients together and it was pretty darn tasty.

Leave a Reply

