Grain Free Granola Bars

Before we were Paleo, I would make granola bars for my husband to take to work. Packing lunches for him to take to work is a great way to keep our budget in check, and another way for him to be eating quality food. When we made the lifestyle switch, I adjusted these bars to not include any grains or oats. With that said, they are heavy on nuts, so maybe not the best snack option if weight loss is your goal. IMG_0928

Ingredients:

1 cup each of nuts (I used almonds, walnuts, cashews, and pecans)

2 cups dried fruit (I used unsweetened coconut, strawberries, plums, and mangoes)

1/4 chia seeds

1/4 chocolate chips (totally optionally)

Honey- I add this in slowly as I mix the other ingredients. I add just enough to help everything stick together.

IMG_0929

You can play with this recipe. Change the fruits, change the nuts, add some pumpkin or sunflower seeds. You could also use a nut butter in place of the honey to hold everything together. The options are endless. I dry my own fruit to add to these, because it’s cheaper, and also to avoid any extra sugars or preservatives.

IMG_0930

Once everything is mixed up, I use mini loaf pans, that have a little oil on them to prevent sticking. If you don’t have mini loaf pans, you can use a regular brownie pan, and simply cut them into bars once they’ve cooled. You can also just spread the ingredients on a baking sheet, and then break it up once it’s cooled to eat as regular granola. (The bars are just easier for my husband to eat on the go). Then I just pop them into the oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or so, allow them to cool completely, and enjoy.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Grain Free Granola Bars

  1. OMG I’m loving your blog! I just found a grain free granola recipe on another blog the other day that I’m dying to try but I love how yours is more generic so I can adapt it to my pantry contents. Btw how old is your little one and if old enough for food are you also feeding them paleo?

  2. She’s 8 months old right now. I make her formula using the recipes from Nourishing Traditions, based on the Weston A Price research. That is pretty heavy in dairy, but I use raw milk and cream. I have started feeding her egg yolks, and some vegetables, but I have avoided the cereal and rice products. I’ve read a lot of information suggesting that babies stomachs can’t even digest grains until they are at least a year old, anyway, but I’ll probably just avoid them altogether.

Leave a Reply

