Cinnamon Raisin Bread

Sliced Cinnamon Raisin BreadI am a breakfast eater. I love it. Back before I was Paleo, I would eat a bowl of cereal, usually with some fresh berries added every morning. After going paleo, I’d usually eat some eggs, usually hard boiled, with some fruit. Fruit never bores me. I love it. Eggs, however, bore me. I don’t even like hard boiled eggs most of the time, either. I just don’t. However, I can hard boil a bunch of eggs at the beginning of the week and have breakfast already made for me in the morning. I like things to be easy more than I dislike hard boiled eggs. With that said, here in NH, fresh fruit isn’t in season any more, and being that we’re living with family, I’ve not been good about eating breakfast. To fix that, I made a loaf of cinnamon raisin bread to have on standby for a quick and easy breakfast. (Again, as with pretty much any baked good, this isn’t a good choice for all the time. It’s still a cheat food, paleo or not….but it’s delicious.)

Cinnamon Raisin Bread This recipe is from Taylor Made it Paleo. If you aren’t familiar with her site, go check it out. She has a lot of delicious goodies on her site.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 2 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/4 cup honey (I used raw, local, wildflower honey)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup walnuts (optional- ( skipped them)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Line a bread pan with parchment paper, so that some sticks out on either side (to help with removal). -I actually find this to be kind of a pain. I’m not sure if coating the pan with a little coconut oil would make it easy to remove, but lining it with parchment paper always means that I have wrinkles in the finished product.
  3. Combine almond flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt in a medium sized bowl.
  4. Combine eggs, honey, coconut oil, and vanilla in a stand mixer until all ingredients are well incorporated.
  5. Slowly add dry ingredients to the wet, and continue mixing.
  6. Once everything is well mixed, add raisins and walnuts (if you use them)
  7. Pour batter into bread pan.
  8. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean in the center.

I served mine with some grass-fed butter, and just a touch more of the local honey. This bread was even a hit with the not Paleo family.

Leave a Reply

