M.I.A

Admittedly, I’ve been missing in action since the move. This adjustment has been a much larger struggle than I had anticipated. We are still staying with family, and as such don’t have our own kitchen for cooking. I, of course, can use the kitchen here, but that generally means washing the dishes that I need to use, cooking, and then cleaning up after myself. Aside from that, there isn’t room for groceries in the refrigerator here.  Which is totally fine, this isn’t our house. We are guests here, but running to the store each day to get groceries to prepare a meal can be inconvenient to say the least. The other major hindrance is that the family is opposed to Paleo. At first, they were willing to eat if I cooked, but when everyone loved the food, it seemed to become an issue. Like I was trying to be a show off or something. I’m not really sure what the issue is, but it’s very clear that there is one. Now, if I cook, they “just ate,”  “aren’t hungry” or will try a single bite to be polite. (Then they will go back and sneak more food when they think we’re not around….) I’m not sure why they are so strongly opposed to it, since they seem to have enjoyed anything that I’ve cooked, but they don’t want to hear about Paleo, they don’t want to look at my cookbooks, and they don’t want to try my cooking. In fact, they bury my cookbooks in the kitchen, making it more difficult for me to find them, and they move any groceries we do buy to the back of the refrigerator so that I can’t  find them, and move any dry goods to the higher shelves that I can’t reach. Okay, cool, I get it. You want nothing to do with Paleo.

With that said, one of my brother in laws was just hospitalized for diabetes. Turns out that he is a type 1 diabetic and nobody knew. They have made adjustments to his diet, loaded him up with medications, and he’s adjusted to eating boring food and being hungry all of the time.  Then he was diagnosed with high cholesterol. They have made more adjustments, added more medication, loaded up the house with fake sugar, fake butter, fake eggs, and all of the other chemical filled “foods” that are supposed to be healthier for him. Meanwhile, he is hungry all of the time, and miserable. He asks my husband and I nearly every day to cook dinner for everyone, because he knows that whatever we cook will be good, and he will be able to eat as much as he wants. Our hands are pretty tied though. If we cook for him, he gets told he can’t have any, and we make the family who is still providing us with a place to live mad. If we don’t cook for him, though, he gets to eat a bunch of chemicals, tasteless crap, and be hungry. It’s so frustrating to watch and to be a part of. We could help if they would let us. We could make things easier if they would let us, but they won’t.  I’m at all loss with it all, really. I don’t even know what to do.

However, hubby and I are pissing them off and cooking for ourselves as much as possible. It is a pain, and inconvenient, but well worth it.  I cannot wait until I have my own kitchen again, with plenty of space for healthy foods, and my kitchen gadgets. In the meantime, though, we are making the best of a crappy situation and trying our best to do what we need to do for our own well being. We cannot change their mindsets, but to damage our own health in the meantime is just silly. We offer some food to all of them every time we cook, even though we know what the answer we be. We both were suffering relapses with our health, and gaining weight, and we just reached a point where being polite wasn’t worth the damage that it was doing anymore. Plus, we found out that we are expecting another baby. I am not willing to keep damaging my health knowing full well that I am growing another life inside of me. I can’t do that to myself, or to this baby.

So, in the meantime, I hope to be able to blog more often than I have been, but if it is still a bit scattered, I apologize in advance. I am certainly doing the best that I can, with what I have.  As always, I can’t thank you enough for being here and following along with my adventures.

 

One thought on “M.I.A

  1. Pingback: PaleOMG’s Almost 5 Ingredient Pizza Spaghetti Pie | Adventures of a Cavemom

Leave a Reply

